Body Text Size: A A
The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Columbus


2017 Democracy In Action Honoree Announced!

Thursday, Jan. 19, 2017

Janet E. Jackson to Receive Democracy In Action Award

Janet Jackson

       The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Columbus is proud to announce that Janet Jackson is the winner of the 2017 Democracy In Action Award.  Democracy In Action is the League's highest honor.  Recipients of the award are recognized for outstanding participation in civic affairs, and embody, as does the League, a strong belief that our democratic system of government works best when citizens are active and informed.  

         The award will be presented at a ceremony at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 9, at the Fawcett Center at OSU. The event is open to the public. Tickets will be available through the League's web site:

         "Janet Jackson embodies dedication to civic participation. Her outstanding leadership of United Way of Central Ohio, as well as her dedication as an elected official, have made an tremendous positive impact on Central Ohio and make her a clear choice to receive this recognition from the League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Columbus," said Barb Hykes, President of LWVMC. 

         Jackson has served as CEO of United Way of Central Ohio for 14 years. She spent more than a decade in public office, as the first black woman to serve as a judge in Franklin County and as the first female city attorney in Columbus.

         Speaking about Jackson at the event will be the Honorary Co-chairs of the 2017 Democracy In Action Award: Alex Shumate, Managing Partner, North America, of the international law firm of Squire Patton Boggs; Ann Pizzuti, co-founder and board member of The Pizzuti Collection, a nonprofit organization presenting temporary exhibitions of contemporary art from the collection of Ron and Ann Pizzuti; and Jaiza Page, former Columbus City Attorney and currently Of Council at the law firm Eastman & Smith, as well as a Columbus City Council Member.  Presenting the award will 2016 Democracy In Action Award recipient Sara Neikirk.

         Corporate Sponsors of the event include: Diamond Sponsor - Nationwide Insurance; Platinum Sponsors - L Brands Foundation and Honda of America; Civic Sponsors -  Squire Patton Boggs and The Edwards Group at Morgan Stanley; and Support Sponsors - The Robert Weiler Company, United Way of Central Ohio, and  American Electric Power.

         Funds raised from the Democracy In Action Award event support the mission of the League of Women Voters in Central Ohio, to promote the informed and active participation of citizens in government and influence public policy through education and advocacy.  Sponsor support ensures the continuation of the League’s vital services, including the Voter Information Bulletin; the League's informative web and social media sites that contain timely information on civic participation year-round; meet-the-candidates events; educational events and public forums; and advocacy for open government and voter protection.